Jacksonville Public Library Blog

So You Think You Can Tech: Basic Computer Troubleshooting – My Computer Keeps Restarting

Tech Tuesday with Jacksonville Public Library

It happens to all of us at one point or another. Maybe your computer starts slowing. Maybe the ‘W’ on your keyboard stops working. Maybe your printer won’t connect. Is it the WiFi Goblin messing you’re your machine? Have vaguely defined ‘hackers’ taken over your computer to launch satellites and spy on your credit?! Regardless of the issue, or its cause, you have probably looked at your computer, sighed, and started mentally shelling out for the hundred-dollar Geek Squad appointment. Did you know that isn’t necessary though? Did you know that many of your computer’s problems can be easily fixed? If not, then this is the post for you.

Lit Chat: Online Author Talk with Kristin Harmel

The Book of Lost names by Kristin Harmel

Exciting news! Kristin Harmel, a #1 international and USA TODAY bestselling author, will join our Lit Chat series on Wednesday, Sept. 2nd, 2020, at 1 p.m. to discuss her inspiring new novel The Book of Lost Names which is set amid the champagne vineyards of northern France during the darkest days of World War II, perfect for fans of Kristin Hannah’s The Nightingale. The conversation will be lead by local author Jane Wood, author of five award-winning juvenile fiction books. Click here to register.

So You Think You Can Tech: Basic Computer Troubleshooting – My Peripheral Isn’t Working

Tech Tuesday with Jacksonville Public Library

It happens to all of us at one point or another. Maybe your computer starts slowing. Maybe the ‘W’ on your keyboard stops working. Maybe your printer won’t connect. Is it the WiFi Goblin messing you’re your machine? Have vaguely defined ‘hackers’ taken over your computer to launch satellites and spy on your credit?! Regardless of the issue, or its cause, you have probably looked at your computer, sighed, and started mentally shelling out for the hundred-dollar Geek Squad appointment. Did you know that isn’t necessary though? Did you know that many of your computer’s problems can be easily fixed? If not, then this is the post for you.

Writer’s Lab STORYTELLING 101: Understanding Fiction's Key Elements

Vic DiGenti for Writer's Lab at the library

Learning to write a well-crafted novel or short story can take years of practice, but an understanding of the basic techniques of storytelling can quickly flatten the learning curve. Storytelling 101 is for both beginning writers and more advanced pros looking for new insights. Award-winning author Vic DiGenti leads writers in three virtual sessions based on the popular Novel in A Day workshop designed to provide writers with the tools needed to successfully craft their own novel.

Votes for Women! Books That Commemorate The 100th Anniversary of The 19th Amendment

amendment 19 centennial image

Today marks the 100th anniversary of the passage of the 19th Amendment, guaranteeing and protecting women's constitutional right to vote. This historic centennial offers a unique opportunity to celebrate a milestone of democracy and to do so, we've put together a list of books for both adults and kids to commemorate and explore the importance of the 19th Amendment.

So You Think You Can Tech: Basic Computer Troubleshooting – My Computer Won’t Turn On

Tech Tuesday with Jacksonville Public Library

It happens to all of us at one point or another. Maybe your computer starts slowing. Maybe the ‘W’ on your keyboard stops working. Maybe your printer won’t connect. Is it the WiFi Goblin messing you’re your machine? Have vaguely defined ‘hackers’ taken over your computer to launch satellites and spy on your credit?! Regardless of the issue, or its cause, you have probably looked at your computer, sighed, and started mentally shelling out for the hundred-dollar Geek Squad appointment. Did you know that isn’t necessary though? Did you know that many of your computer’s problems can be easily fixed?

Brace Yourself, This Only Goes Through September! #Challenge2020: Library Edition Pandemic Books & Movies

grid of movie titles

A new meme that perfectly summarizes the vast array range of emotions felt this year is going viral on social media. The #2020Challenge, supposedly started by celebrity Reese Witherspoon, has sparked other celebrities like Jennifer Gardner, Oprah Winfrey and Kerry Washington to share their own hilarious versions online too. So, of course, we had to join in on the fun too using titles that you can check out from our collection! Below is our version of the #2020Challenge meme but library edition with a link to check out each of the books below. What are your picks for October and beyond? Would you change anything?

So You Think You Can Tech: Viruses and Malware

Tech Tuesday with Jacksonville Public Library

#TechTuesday with E-Services

You hear about them all the time. Your favorite tv characters battle them while tense music enhances the drumbeat of fingers pounding on keys. They are Viruses and, if you were to believe some people, they are out to steal your cat (they aren’t by the way). What Viruses and their less spoken of cousins, Malware, ARE after is your personal information and to make your life difficult, sometimes in the pettiest of ways.

New! Boost Your Kids Studies At Home With Library Academy

young black girl learning at home with the library

Now that the 2020 back-to-school season is here, we know that the return to school is unlike any other that has come before it for teachers, students and parents. That is why Jacksonville Public Library is here to help with activities and tips you can use to play and learn at home with your child. 

Pages

Get a Library Card

Jacksonville Public Library Card image

 

Want the book hook up?

Image representing the Book Hook Up newsletter sign up at the Jacksonville Public Library

Sign up to get the hottest titles in your favorite genres sent right to your inbox each month