Jacksonville Public Library Blog

So You Think You Can Tech – Cookies

tech tuesday with e-services

#TechTuesday with E-Services

Mmm, Cookies. Who doesn’t love an ooey, gooey chocolate chip cookie?  

Wait, no, not those Cookies, sorry. Today we are going to talk about Cookies in your computer. If you have been anywhere on the internet these days, you have probably encountered something mentioning Cookies and asking your permission to use them. So, let’s do a deep dive into them. 

Manga: The Thing To Read For Fans Of Anime!

Manga: The thing to read for fans of anime!

In celebration of Graphic Novels in Libraries Month, guest blogger Andrea Markle will do a shelf highlight on the Jackonville Public Library's Manga collection. 

It is required to shelve various materials when working at the library, i.e. books, audiobooks, CDs and DVDs. But, one of my favorite sections in the library to shelve are the Teen Graphic and Adult Graphic areas. This is mainly due to the fact that I am personally a fan of the Japanese graphic novels, otherwise known as manga.  

Hamilton Read-alikes for Adults and Youth

Hamilton Read Alikes

Finally, we get to see what it’s like in the room where it happens. If you are not already a Hamilton fan, now is the perfect time to get in the loop about why so many people are crazy about the musical, Hamilton. You will immediately be hooked like so many other Hamilfans and come away looking for more.

New Exhibit at Jacksonville Public Library's Main Library: MOSH Neighborhoods

MOSH Neighborhoods Exhibit

The exhibit features a set of large, illustrated text panels mounted in custom “doorframes” that outline the historical development of Jacksonville’s many and varied neighborhoods, from early river communities to automobile-based suburbs. The exhibit underscores the importance of vibrant, healthy neighborhoods to the city’s identity and well-being. 

Is Your Tech Ready For Hurricane Season?

Tech Tuesday with e-services

How should I prepare my tech for a storm?  

First check all batteries and charge/replace any that need it before the storm. Make sure all devices are charged before the storm in case of power outage. Try not to use your tech except in case of emergency, and turn your tech off or put it in airplane mode when you’re not actively using it to preserve your battery life. 

Fire Up The Grill With 10 Sizzling Reads

National Grilling Month

July is National Grilling Month and every griller’s favorite time of year, so we’re celebrating with 10 books of delicious barbecue recipes! From marinated skewers of chicken, tofu or veggies, to thick cut steaks - pretty much everything tastes better after sizzling over a hot grill, even dessert! These books will take your barbie skills to the next level and most of them are available digitally so no need to worry about getting barbecue sauce on the pages.

Kapow! Happy Graphic Novels in Libraries Month 2020!

Graphic Novels Month

In case you need an excuse to read more graphic novels, July is National Graphic Novels in Libraries month! With thrilling sci-fi and fantasy, action-packed manga and hero-led humor, graphic novels are sure to captivate readers of all ages. Whether you're a graphic novels connoisseur, or just getting started, the library has great material waiting for you to check out. You can access tons of graphic novels on Hoopla when you create a free account using your Jacksonville Public Library card!  

Zoom – Here we go!

Tech Tuesday with Jacksonville Public Library

In the coming weeks Jacksonville Public Library will be offering online classes taught by the E-Services Department, and we’ll be using Zoom to show them. So, what is Zoom and how do I Zoom? We have some tips on Zooming that will help!

Show Your Pride: Celebrate Pride Month With Books And Virtual Events

Pride Month 2020

This month marks the 50th anniversary of Pride Month, but many celebrations are going to look different this year. The Jacksonville Public Library is celebrating their Pride Month programs with two virtual events, Rainbow Storytime: This Day in June and Read the Rainbow: Teen Book Club.  You can also find book lists that contain notable LGBTQ+ reads for all ages. Show your pride and celebrate Pride Month with Jacksonville Public Library!

Pages

Get a Library Card

Jacksonville Public Library Card image

 

Want the book hook up?

Image representing the Book Hook Up newsletter sign up at the Jacksonville Public Library

Sign up to get the hottest titles in your favorite genres sent right to your inbox each month