Database Research A-Z

Academic One File

Academic OneFile is a comprehensive, up-to-date and easy-to-use resource for serious academic research. Home to nearly 13,000 indexed journals, Academic OneFile is available 24/7 and effortlessly delivers quality content for faculty, students, scholars and other researchers.

Extensive coverage of the physical sciences, technology, medicine, social sciences, the arts, theology, literature and other subjects makes Academic OneFile both authoritative and comprehensive.

Acceda Noticias

Spanish language full-text news articles collected from 8 national newspapers--all in one easy-to-search database.
Los artículos españoles de noticias de repleto-texto de idioma reunieron de 8 periódicos nacionales--todo en un fácil a busca la base de datos.

African American Experience

The widest-ranging and easiest-to-use online collection on African American life ever assembled. Provides rock-solid information from authorities in the field and allows African Americans to speak for themselves through a wealth of primary sources. Drawing on over 400 volumes, and designed under the guidance of leading librarians, this database gives voice to the black experience from its African origins to the present day.

ArchiveGrid

(In-Library Use Only)

Online access to nearly a million descriptions of archival collections owned by thousands of libraries, museums, historical societies and archives worldwide. ArchiveGrid is an important destination for searching for historical documents, personal papers and family histories held in archives.

Books and Authors

Readers can use Books & Authors to enhance the experience of the book they are currently reading, digging deeper into its themes and origins, or learning how the author's life and times contributed to the work. 

Also take advatage of the Read-A-Like wizard.  Give us a book that you like, and we'll suggest books to read next, based on subject, author, genre, and more!

Business Collection

Analyze company performance and activity, industry events and trends as well as the latest in management, economics and politics.  Access to a combination of broker research reports, trade publications, newspapers, journals and company directory listings with full text and images available.

Career Transitions

Users will have a multitude of job search options, including temporary positions, apprenticeships, internships and entry-level positions. Helps users create targeted resumes and cover letters. Users will also find helpful tips and advice from career experts on applying for jobs, interviewing, networking.

Florida Electronic Library

Search Magazines, Books, Newspapers and More in over a hundred databases from the Florida Electronic Library.  Narrow by subjects, grade levels or view the entire A-Z list. Read full-text articles from magazines such as Newsweek, Vogue, Wired, and more as well as newspapers such as USA Today, The New York Times, The Washington Post, and The Wall Street Journal.

Gale Directory Library

The Gale Directory Library hosts a variety of directory products that particular libraries can choose from. Use it to search, sort and export information from both current directory editions as well as prior editions that are maintained as searchable backfiles. Multiple directories can be cross-searched or users can mine individual directories for the particular kinds of data they contain, such as financial information for companies, circulation figures for publications, and much more.

Gale in Context Elementary

Gale in Context | Elementary is a content-rich resource featuring a mobile-responsive, modern, inviting interface with continuously updated content appropriate for elementary school students. This resource helps kids advance research skills and gain comfort with database searching.

Subject categories include animals, arts & entertainment, geography, health, history & social studies, inventions & technology, plants, people, science & math, sports, stories & literature and transportation.

Gale Presents: Peterson's Test and Career Prep

Over 300 practice tests and courses GED prep, SAT Subject Tests, FCAT and many others.

Career module includes test prep help to obtain licenses for a career as a Practical or Registered Nurse, civil service. (firefighter, police officer, postal worker, realtor), teacher certification and many others.

Includes Online Resume Builder.

Information on over 4,000 accredited schools.

General OneFile

News and periodical articles on a wide range of topics: business, computers, current events, economics, education, environmental issues, health care, hobbies, humanities, law, literature and art, politics, science, social science, sports, technology, and many general interest topics.

LegalTrac

LegalTrac features a comprehensive collection of major legal publications. This invaluable resource provides indexing for more than 1,500 major law reviews, legal newspapers, specialty publications, Bar Association journals and international legal journals, including more than 250 titles in full text.

LitFinder

LitFinder covers all time periods and contains a wealth of primary literature content. This includes approximately 140,000 full-text poems, 800,000 poem citations and excerpts, 7,100 full-text short stories and novels, 3,800 full-text essays, 2,000 full-text speeches and 1,700 full-text plays. It also includes biographies, work summaries, photographs and a glossary.

Lynda.com

Lynda logo

Lynda.com helps anyone learn software, technology, creative, and business skills to achieve their personal and professional goals. Library card holders get FREE access to the vast Lynda.com library of high-quality, current, and engaging video tutorials taught by recognized industry experts.

MasterFILE Premier (EBSCO)

MasterFILE Premier contains full text for thousands of general reference magazines and publications and covers a wide-range of subject areas including business, health, education, general science, multicultural issues and much more.

MasterFILE Premier contains PDF backfiles* (as far back as 1975) for key publications including American Libraries, Foreign Affairs, History Today, Judaism, Library Journal, National Review, Saturday Evening Post and more.

* Science News is available in HTML back to 1975.

Morningstar Investment Research Center

**Library card number must be all caps i.e. FJP000xxxxxxx.

Morningstar, Inc. is a leading provider of independent investment research in the United States and in major international markets. It is a trusted source for insightful information on stocks, mutual funds, variable annuities, closed-end funds, exchange-traded funds, separate accounts, hedge funds, and 529 college savings plans.

Next Reads Newsletters

Want to receive newsletters listing some of the hottest books recently published? Want to get the latest books in Health, Mystery, Horror, Science Fiction, or other genres? Subscribe to a NextReads™ newsletter and have a list emailed directly to you! Some are published monthly, others bimonthly.

Opposing Viewpoints in Context

Opposing Viewpoints in Context is the premier online resource covering today's hottest social issues, from Offshore Drilling to Climate Change, Health Care to Immigration. Opposing Viewpoints in Context helps students research, analyze and organize a broad variety of data for conducting research, completing writing assignments, preparing for debates, creating presentations and more.

Psychology Collection

This collection gives individuals a basic understanding of the study of the mind, emotions and how the human mind develops and diminishes over time. Glean from the thoughts, views, discoveries, and reports of others covering all fields of psychology— abnormal, biological, cognitive, comparative, developmental, personality, quantitative, social and all areas of applied psychology.

Reference Solutions

Reference Solutions is a powerful online reference and research tool providing library cardholders instant, real-time access to accurate, in-depth information on 24 million U.S. businesses and 235 million U.S. residents. Reference Solutions makes it faster and easier to find new business opportunities, research executives and companies, find news articles, conduct job searches, research papers, locate addresses and phone numbers, conduct market research and much more.

Research in Context

Created specifically for middle-schoolers, Research in Context combines the best of Gale's reference content with age-appropriate videos, newspapers, magazines, primary sources, and much more. Students will find outstanding support to complete assignments in core subjects including literature, science, social studies, and history.

Science in Context

Supporting high school curricula and university coursework, Science in Context features authoritative information for assignments and projects, and provides detailed coverage of popular subjects. From earth science and life science, to space, technology, mathematics and science history and biography, this revolutionary, this curriculum-oriented online experience is designed to boost achievement for students and researchers.

Sources in U.S. History Online: The Civil War

This digital archive documents the war that transformed America, ending slavery and unifying the nation around the principles of freedom. The collection examines the war in all its complexity; its battles and campaigns, its political and religious aspects, the experiences of its leaders and common soldiers, the home front and the military campground, from its causes to its consequences. 

Student Edition

This database is designed for high school students, with access to a variety of indexed and full-text magazines, newspapers and reference books for information on current events, the arts, science, popular culture, health, people, government, history, sports and more.

Transparent Language Online

Learn a new language using a self-paced, online language-learning system.  Transparent Language offers courses in over 100 languages.  Learn a foreign language before departing for your next trip with your Jacksonville Public Library card.

Transparent Language also includes KidsSpeak, a fun, easy to use language learning program for young learners.  Designed for elementary aged children 6 and up KidSpeak offers courses in Chinese, English, French, German, Italian, and Spanish.

World Folklore and Folklife

Subjects include celebrations and rituals, food and drink, holidays and festivals, music and dance, religion and belief,

tales, myths, and Urban legends, traditional arts and crafts, music and dance, religion and belief.
 

A Note About the Content

Content in Daily Life Online reflects the voice of the people.

Vernacular speech is rough and obscenity-laden at times, and may be inappropriate for children.

Daily Life Online has chosen to take a scholarly approach and not censor the authentic materials it gathers;

WorldCat

Users can access the catalog information for millions of items in the online catalogs of thousands of libraries.

Links indicate how many and which libraries possess copies of the items, the subject areas discussed, as well as excerpts

or text for some materials.

Get a Library Card

Jacksonville Public Library Card image