Jacksonville Public Library Blog

So You Think You Can Tech: Email vs Texting

Tech Tuesday with Jacksonville Public Library

#TechTuesday with E-Services

Communication is an amazing concept. It allows us to convey ideas, emotions, and, occasionally, cute pictures of kittens. Back before all the modern wonders we now take for granted we communicated by actually talking to people or writing them letters or walking up to family members and showing them books of cute kittens. These days though we use our devices. Instead of talking, we text. Instead of writing, we email. And instead of cute kittens…well they are still cute, that’s how they trick you. What can be even trickier is the differences between email and texting. Those differences can lead to generational issues, ones I hope to help ease today.

Supplement Your Studies At Home With Our Homeschool Resources

Home School Resouces

We know that the 2020 school year will be challenging for many and that there are still many uncertainties when it comes to what learning will look like this fall, but we want to help get you through it as best we can. That’s why we’re making it easy for parents and kids to supplement learning at home by utilizing our electronic resources. Below is a list of our educational resources that you can use for free from home.

Fine Free is Worry Free

fine free library

We want you back! Jacksonville Public Library is overdue fine free until at least December 31, 2020! All outstanding overdue fines have been erased from everyone's accounts and now you don't have to worry if you get a little behind schedule.

So You Think You Can Tech: Google Maps and Location Services

Tech Tuesday with Jacksonville Public Library

#Google Maps and Location Services

You may find yourself going to a lot of new and different places during the pandemic, or you may be staying inside more and calling places for takeout options. Either way, Google Maps has you covered with a variety of maps, directions, and other useful options. Check it out!

Lit Chat With Libby Copeland

The Lost Family by Libby Copeland

Have you ever wondered what your ancestry search will reveal? If so, join us for a special online author talk with award-winning journalist Libby Copeland and moderator Connie Bradshaw,a professional genealogist and owner of I Dig Your Roots on Tuesday, August 4 at 1 PM.

So You Think You Can Tech – Google Photos

Tech Tuesday with Jacksonville Public Library

#TechTuesday with E-Services

Hail and well met! Welcome back to another round of tips from me to you. Recently I have had several people come to me with questions regarding their pictures, specifically their pictures in the Google Photos app. Since there has been much confusion on this topic, I figured it best to have a look.  

We All Scream For Ice Cream! Ice Cream Books To Help Cool Us Off

National Ice Cream Day

July is National Ice Cream Month and Sunday, July 19th is National Ice Cream Day, which is very convenient because it is so incredibly hot out! Whether you prefer vanilla or chocolate, cone or cup, there is no denying our universal love of this delicious frozen treat. Cool off with these sweet reads for both kids and adults!

So You Think You Can Tech – Cookies

tech tuesday with e-services

#TechTuesday with E-Services

Mmm, Cookies. Who doesn’t love an ooey, gooey chocolate chip cookie?  

Wait, no, not those Cookies, sorry. Today we are going to talk about Cookies in your computer. If you have been anywhere on the internet these days, you have probably encountered something mentioning Cookies and asking your permission to use them. So, let’s do a deep dive into them. 

Manga: The Thing To Read For Fans Of Anime!

Manga: The thing to read for fans of anime!

In celebration of Graphic Novels in Libraries Month, guest blogger Andrea Markle will do a shelf highlight on the Jackonville Public Library's Manga collection. 

It is required to shelve various materials when working at the library, i.e. books, audiobooks, CDs and DVDs. But, one of my favorite sections in the library to shelve are the Teen Graphic and Adult Graphic areas. This is mainly due to the fact that I am personally a fan of the Japanese graphic novels, otherwise known as manga.  

Hamilton Read-alikes for Adults and Youth

Hamilton Read Alikes

Finally, we get to see what it’s like in the room where it happens. If you are not already a Hamilton fan, now is the perfect time to get in the loop about why so many people are crazy about the musical, Hamilton. You will immediately be hooked like so many other Hamilfans and come away looking for more.

Pages

Get a Library Card

Jacksonville Public Library Card image