Jacksonville Public Library Blog

Screening Room With David Head

Screening Room with David Head

Historian David Head joins our Screening Room series on Wednesday, September 16th, at 7pm. David follows up his Sept. 9th Lit Chat A Crisis of Peace: Washington, the Newburgh Conspiracy, and the Fate of the American Revolution with a discussion on George Washington’s command of the army and British military surrender as told through Great Courses Military History documentary series on Kanopy. Register here to be a part of the discussion.

So You Think You Can Tech – Basic Computer Troubleshooting – My Computer is Slowing Down

Tech Tuesday with Jacksonville Public Library

It happens to all of us at one point or another. Maybe your computer starts slowing. Maybe the ‘W’ on your keyboard stops working. Maybe your printer won’t connect. Is it the WiFi Goblin messing you’re your machine? Have vaguely defined ‘hackers’ taken over your computer to launch satellites and spy on your credit?! Regardless of the issue, or its cause, you have probably looked at your computer, sighed, and started mentally shelling out for the hundred-dollar Geek Squad appointment. Did you know that isn’t necessary though? Did you know that many of your computer’s problems can be easily fixed? If not, then this is the post for you.

TRIUMPHS! IN! TECH!

Greetings and felicitations fair Library reader! Welcome to Triumphs in Tech, where we tell you about all the amazing things coming to you care of our e-Services Department. This month is a real doozy. After our initial trial run of Zoom classes—you did know we have Zoom Tech classes, right?—we are bringing to you this month seventeen, 17!, classes to help you get the skills you need.

Now Open! StoryWalk in Klutho Park!

Storywalk in Klutho Park Jacksonville Florida

StoryWalk® is a fun and educational tool for children and adults to enjoy literacy, physical activity and the outdoors all at the same time. A StoryWalk® is a series of signs featuring sequential spreads from a children’s picture book. Those pages are spread throughout the park so that community members can engage in reading children’s books in a unique environment.

September 2020 New Releases

newly released books at the library

A new month means new books here at Jacksonville Public Library! We've put together a booklist of September's must-read new releases for adults and kids. There are plenty of new titles released this month to check out. From Fredrik Backman's new book, Anxious People to The Return by Nicolas Sparks and Pete the Cat is back in Crayons Rock! by James Dean - here are some must-read new releases to look out for this September.

So You Think You Can Tech: Basic Computer Troubleshooting – My Computer Keeps Restarting

Tech Tuesday with Jacksonville Public Library

It happens to all of us at one point or another. Maybe your computer starts slowing. Maybe the ‘W’ on your keyboard stops working. Maybe your printer won’t connect. Is it the WiFi Goblin messing you’re your machine? Have vaguely defined ‘hackers’ taken over your computer to launch satellites and spy on your credit?! Regardless of the issue, or its cause, you have probably looked at your computer, sighed, and started mentally shelling out for the hundred-dollar Geek Squad appointment. Did you know that isn’t necessary though? Did you know that many of your computer’s problems can be easily fixed? If not, then this is the post for you.

Lit Chat: Online Author Talk with Kristin Harmel

The Book of Lost names by Kristin Harmel

Exciting news! Kristin Harmel, a #1 international and USA TODAY bestselling author, will join our Lit Chat series on Wednesday, Sept. 2nd, 2020, at 1 p.m. to discuss her inspiring new novel The Book of Lost Names which is set amid the champagne vineyards of northern France during the darkest days of World War II, perfect for fans of Kristin Hannah’s The Nightingale. The conversation will be lead by local author Jane Wood, author of five award-winning juvenile fiction books. Click here to register.

So You Think You Can Tech: Basic Computer Troubleshooting – My Peripheral Isn’t Working

Tech Tuesday with Jacksonville Public Library

It happens to all of us at one point or another. Maybe your computer starts slowing. Maybe the ‘W’ on your keyboard stops working. Maybe your printer won’t connect. Is it the WiFi Goblin messing you’re your machine? Have vaguely defined ‘hackers’ taken over your computer to launch satellites and spy on your credit?! Regardless of the issue, or its cause, you have probably looked at your computer, sighed, and started mentally shelling out for the hundred-dollar Geek Squad appointment. Did you know that isn’t necessary though? Did you know that many of your computer’s problems can be easily fixed? If not, then this is the post for you.

Writer’s Lab STORYTELLING 101: Understanding Fiction's Key Elements

Vic DiGenti for Writer's Lab at the library

Learning to write a well-crafted novel or short story can take years of practice, but an understanding of the basic techniques of storytelling can quickly flatten the learning curve. Storytelling 101 is for both beginning writers and more advanced pros looking for new insights. Award-winning author Vic DiGenti leads writers in three virtual sessions based on the popular Novel in A Day workshop designed to provide writers with the tools needed to successfully craft their own novel.

Pages

Get a Library Card

Jacksonville Public Library Card image

 

Want the book hook up?

Image representing the Book Hook Up newsletter sign up at the Jacksonville Public Library

Sign up to get the hottest titles in your favorite genres sent right to your inbox each month